Portugal is a breath-taking country on the Western Coast of Europe. It’s mild climate and beautiful beaches make it a popular holiday destination all year round. In addition to its scenic beauty, Portugal is recognized as having high living standards and ranks very highly on the Global Competitiveness Report (11th overall).
Because of it’s location, it is a short plane ride to North America and only a few hours from any of the other European capitals, Portugal is the perfect hub for the international businessman.Once you get Portugal residency, you can enjoy the highlights among Portugal’s attractions vary from culture, gastronomy and wines, beaches, golf, history, a variety of landscapes and above all the hospitality of the Portuguese people.


Rank 77 - 2017 Index of Economic Freedom

Rank 3 - Safest Countries in the World

Rank 4 - Passport Power Index

Rank 24 - Forbes Best Countries for Business Index

Rank 41 - UNDP Human Development Indicators (World)


The United Nations (UN) and its Specialised Agencies

European Union

Schengen Convention

World Trade Organisation (WTO)

Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)

The Council of Europe (CoE)

The World Bank

The International Monetary Fund (IMF)


Freedom of movement

As a permanent resident of Portugal, you are a resident of the European Union, thus you are entitled to freedom of movement in the Schengen area.


You and your family will be able to study in schools or universities across Portugal and enjoy world-class healthcare.

Minimal residency required

There are minimal physical residency requirements, you are required to visit Portugal for 7 days per year.

Pathway to citizenship

By fulfilling minimal requirements, you may be eligible for a Portuguese citizenship after 5 years of holding your residency.

High ranked passport

The Portuguese passport is ranked in the top 5 passports in the world for ease of travel.

Ease of travel

Citizens of Portugal can travel visa-free or with visa-on-arrival to over 185 countries and territories including the United States of America, the European Union, Singapore and Hong Kong.